1. Create a business plan 

A successful start in online retail begins with a promising business idea and a well thought-out business plan. Before you start, you should therefore address a certain number of questions:

  • Which business model is desired? B2C, B2B or C2C?
  • Which products and which breadth and depth of product range should be sold to which target group(s)?
  • Where are my customers based? Regional, national or international?
  • How do my customers surf the web?
  • Which trends and customer needs can be found in the sectors selected?
  • What is the competition doing on the web? Who are my main competitors? What does the price competition look like?
  • Which goals should the online shop achieve?
  • How does my online shop stand out from the competition?
  • Which languages and currencies will be offered?
  • Should the products be sold on a marketplace?
  • How will the shop be advertised?
  • How will the customers be tied to the company?

Swiss Post will be happy to assist you in planning, setting up and operating your online shop. The more mature your business plan, the easier it is for us to advise you and develop an appropriate solution. 

Our tip:

In Switzerland, there are numerous firms ready to assist start-ups with useful information and expert advice with regard to setting up a company. The State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) offers tips and support here.

Starting a business – SECO

2. Enhance your e-commerce expertise

In our e-commerce basics, you learn what is essential in e-commerce, from marketing and ordering to customer care. In the e-commerce knowledge archive, you can also find fascinating guides, studies and training courses on the subject of e-commerce. This will help you stay one step ahead of the competition.

3. Plan sufficient resources for marketing

All too often, online retailers neglect the marketing of their online shop. We recommend that you invest at least half of your project budget in marketing. With the corresponding marketing budget and a specific marketing mix of online and offline media, you ensure more orders are placed in your online shop.

Our tip for Online marketing:

  • Search engine marketing (SEO/SEA)
  • Mobile and content marketing
  • Newsletter, e-mails, social media
Module e-marketing

Our tip for Direct marketing:

  • Create mailings in a simple and versatile process using PostCard Creator
  • Reach a broad customer base with B Mail bulk mailings or PromoPost
Module direct marketing

4. Shop software – make the right choice

The choice of shop software is a strategically important decision for any online retailer. The shop software must be reliable and suitable for use in the future – with an increasing number of customer visits and sales. 

Our tip:

Swiss Post works with various online agencies and shop system providers. Your advantages: we are not committed to any specific software and always evaluate the shop solution that is best for you. These partners also offer solutions that optimally integrate our e-commerce services. This eliminates high development costs as the technical interfaces, for example for the connection to YellowCube, already exist and simply need to be configured.

Our partners

5. Offer the preferred payment methods

Make it possible for your customers to shop online using their preferred payment methods. This avoids premature termination of orders. Studies have shown that the conversion rate can be increased significantly where multiple payment options are offered.

Our tip:

Through our partnership with PostFinance, we offer you numerous payment options. Start-ups can also take advantage of exclusive special offers. The service includes the following elements:

  • Opening of a business account
  • Integration of the Payment Service Providing online payment solution (start-up package) for connection to the most popular electronic payment methods for credit cards (MasterCard, Visa, American Express), PostFinance Card, e-finance and TWINT
  • Connection to the SmartBusiness online accounts receivable solution for the simple creation of offers, order confirmations, delivery notes and bills. This service is also available in combination with the e-payment solution mentioned above.
Special offer for start-ups

Useful to know:

The Swiss prefer to pay by invoice. Swiss Post can handle purchases with payment by invoice on your behalf and thus minimize the risk of default.

Module billing

6. Offer your customers flexible shipping and delivery options

Where is my parcel right now? Online shoppers in Switzerland would like to be able to track consignments online, to receive notification of delivery by SMS and to enjoy flexible delivery options. Younger e-shoppers in particular favour same-day delivery. Get to know your customers even better! The trend indicator for 2016 illustrates the current behaviour of Swiss e-shoppers. 

Trend indicator

Our tip: 

Fast, safe or inexpensive: Swiss Post has the right solution for the shipment of your goods:

Swiss Post also offers a wide range of services offering end customers the chance to receive parcels flexibly and to post goods and return consignments where and when they want to. These include the “My consignments” online service with notification prior to delivery to manage receipt, alternative collection and acceptance points such as PickPost and My Post 24, evening and Saturday delivery, pick@home for return consignments and Login Post Connector as a universal access point for online shops.  

Module delivery services & shipping 

Useful to know:

Swiss Post offers practical online services to ensure the convenient handling and management of all online mailing processes. They provide access to numerous functions and practical tools.

Online services

7. Optimize your logistics processes 

From order acceptance in the online shop and picking to delivery of the goods, various e-commerce process steps operate together behind the scenes and must be coordinated. Only then can the promised delivery time be met. You should therefore think about how to coordinate your logistics processes at an early stage.

Our tip:

Can’t see the orders for the parcels? We not only deliver and collect parcels to and from your customers on request. With YellowCube, Swiss Post also operates one of the most modern warehouse buildings, optimized for e-commerce. 

Entrust the entire warehousing process to Swiss Post. This enables you to save on operating costs for your own warehouse and greatly reduce the administrative burden. YellowCube can be used with numerous shop systems. It’s as easy to set up as installing an app on your smartphone. And perhaps the biggest advantage: with the YellowCube solution, you can do away with the costly stock-taking procedure. 

Module warehouse logistics & returns management

1. Etablissez un plan commercial

Le démarrage réussi d’une boutique en ligne est basé sur une idée commerciale ingénieuse et un plan commercial mûrement réfléchi. Avant de commencer, vous devriez donc réfléchir soigneusement à quelques questions:

  • Quel modèle commercial est ciblé? B2C, B2B ou C2C?
  • Quelle sera la diversité de l’assortiment proposé et quels produits doivent être vendus à quel(s) groupe(s) ciblé(s)?
  • Où mes clients sont-ils domiciliés? Clients régionaux, nationaux, internationaux
  • Comment mes clients naviguent-ils dans le réseau
  • Quels tendances et besoins des clients caractérisent le secteur d’activité visé?
  • Que fait la concurrence sur Internet? Quels sont les principaux concurrents? Qu’en est-il de la concurrence sur les prix?
  • Quels objectifs la boutique en ligne doit-elle atteindre?
  • En quoi ma boutique en ligne se distingue-t-elle de celle des concurrents
  • Quelles langues et devises doivent être proposées
  • Les produits seront-ils aussi commercialisés sur une place de marché
  • Comment se fait la promotion de la boutique?
  • Comment les clients de l’entreprise sont-ils fidélisés?

La Poste vous soutient pendant la planification, la mise en service et l’exploitation opérationnelle de votre boutique en ligne. Plus votre plan commercial est abouti, mieux nous pouvons vous conseiller et élaborer une solution adaptée à vos besoins.

Notre conseil:

En Suisse, il existe de nombreuses entreprises qui accompagnent les jeunes entrepreneurs pendant la création d’entreprise en leur donnant des informations utiles et un conseil approfondi. Le Secrétariat d’État à l’économie (SECO) donne des conseils et propose des aides ici.

Création d’entreprise – SECO

2. Approfondissez vos connaissances de l’e-commerce

Nos Bases de l’e-commerce vous indiquent les éléments clés du commerce en ligne – de la commercialisation à la commande, en passant par le suivi des clients. Vous trouverez en outre dans les archives de connaissance e-commerce des guides, des études et des formations continues passionnants sur l’e-commerce. Et vous aurez toujours une longueur d’avance sur vos concurrents.

3. Prévoyez suffisamment de ressources pour la promotion

Les commerçants en ligne négligent souvent la promotion de leur boutique en ligne. Nous vous recommandons d’investir au moins la moitié de votre budget de projet dans la promotion. Un budget marketing adapté et un marketing mix spécifique, alliant mesures en ligne et hors ligne, vous garantissent plus de commandes dans votre boutique en ligne. 

Notre conseil pour Marketing en ligne:

La Poste vous offre une multitude de services pour une commercialisation optimale de votre boutique en ligne. Pour un lancement réussi, nous vous recommandons les mesures suivantes:

  • Marketing par moteurs de recherche (SEO/SEA)

    Marketing mobile et de contenu
  • Newsletter, e-mails, médias sociaux 
Module marketing en ligne

Notre conseil pour marketing direct:

  • Avec PostCard Creator, créez facilement vos propres publipostages, en toute flexibilité 
  • Atteindre une large clientèle avec les envois en nombre du courrier B ou PromoPost
Module marketing direct

4. Logiciels e-boutique – faites le bon choix

La sélection du logiciel de boutique en ligne est une décision stratégique pour tout commerçant en ligne. Le logiciel de boutique en ligne doit être fiable et rester utilisable demain et après-demain, lorsque le nombre de clients sur le site et les chiffres d’affaires augmentent. 

Notre conseil: 

La Poste collabore avec plusieurs agences web et prestataires de systèmes de boutique en ligne. Votre avantage: Nous ne sommes pas liés à un logiciel spécifique et déterminons toujours la solution logicielle la plus adaptée à vos besoins. Par ailleurs, nos partenaires offrent des solutions de logiciel intégrant nos services e-commerce de manière optimale. D’importants coûts de développement sont évités, car les interfaces techniques, permettant, p. ex., de se connecter à YellowCube existent déjà et doivent uniquement être configurées. 

Nos partenaires

5. Proposez les modes de paiement les plus populaires

Permettez à vos clients d’effectuer leurs achats en ligne via le mode de paiement qu’ils préfèrent et évitez l’interruption prématurée de commandes. Des recherches ont montré que le taux de conversion augmente considérablement si plusieurs modes de paiement sont proposés.

Notre conseil: 

Grâce à notre partenariat avec PostFinance, nous vous offrons de nombreuses options de paiement. Par ailleurs, les jeunes entrepreneurs bénéficient d’offres spéciales exclusives. Les prestations suivantes font partie de cette offre:

  • Ouverture du compte commercial
  • Intégration de la solution de paiement en ligne Payment Service Provider (paquet Start-up) pour la connexion des modes de paiement électroniques les plus répandus: cartes de crédits(Mastercard, Visa, American Express), PostFinance Card, E-finance et TWINT  
  • Connexion à la solution débiteurs en ligne SmartBusiness pour l’établissement facile d’offres, de confirmations d’ordres, d’accusés de réception de commandes, de bulletins de livraison et de factures. Cette offre est aussi proposée en combinaison avec les méthodes e-payment évoquées ci-dessus. 
Offre spéciale pour start-up

Bon à savoir:

Le paiement sur facture est le mode de paiement préféré de la population suisse. La Poste peut se charger du traitement des achats sur facture et minimiser ainsi le risque de pertes de recettes.

Module billing

6. Offrez à vos clients des options d’envoi et de distribution flexibles 

Où se trouve mon colis maintenant? Les clients en ligne suisses souhaitent suivre leurs envois en ligne, recevoir un SMS annonçant la distribution et disposer d’options de distribution flexibles. Les adolescents, notamment, préfèrent la distribution le jour même. Apprenez à encore mieux connaître vos clients! Le Baromètre d’opinion 2016 présente le comportement actuel des clients en ligne suisses.

Baromètre de l’e-commerce

Notre conseil: 

Rapide, sûre ou économique: La Poste propose la solution adaptée à l’envoi de vos marchandises:

La Poste propose une gamme de services qui offre aux clients finaux la flexibilité de réception des colis en termes de temps et de lieu et qui simplifie le dépôt et le retour d’envois. Citons le service en ligne «Mes envois» (notifications avant la distribution pour une meilleure gestion de la réception d’envois), les points de retrait et de dépôt alternatifs tels que PickPost et My Post 24, la distribution le soir et le samedi, pick@home pour les envois en retour ou le Login Poste Connector comme accès universel aux boutiques en ligne.

Module services de distribution & expédition

Bon à savoir:

La Poste vous propose des services en ligne pratiques pour l’exécution et la gestion simples à l’écran de tous les processus relatifs à l’expédition postale. Ces services vous permettent d’accéder à de nombreuses fonctions et à des outils pratiques.

Services en ligne

7. Optimisez vos processus logistiques

De la réception de commande dans la boutique en ligne à la distribution des marchandises en passant par le commissionnement: différentes étapes du processus d’e-commerce interagissent en arrière-plan et doivent être coordonnées pour garantir le respect des dates de livraison promises. Réfléchissez donc suffisamment tôt à la manière dont vous coordonnez vos processus logistiques.

Notre conseil:

Vous ne voyez plus vos commandes car vous croulez sous les colis? Nous ne nous contentons pas de distribuer les marchandises, mais, en cas de besoin, nous pouvons également les reprendre chez vos clients. Avec YellowCube, la Poste gère également un des entrepôts les plus modernes et optimisés pour l’e-commerce.

Confiez tout votre processus de stockage à la Poste. Vous économiserez des coûts d’exploitation et beaucoup de charges administratives. De nombreux systèmes de boutique en ligne intègrent YellowCube. Leur intégration est aussi simple que l’installation d’une application sur un smartphone. Et l’avantage majeur: La solution YellowCube vous évite l’établissement d’inventaires fastidieux. 

Module stockage & gestion des retours